India, officially the Republic of India is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by area; the most populous country as of June 2023; and from the time of its independence in 1947, the world's most populous democracy. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the southwest, and the Bay of Bengal on the southeast, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north; and Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives; its Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand, Myanmar, and Indonesia.

Now there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India.

Indian States and Capitals

Sl. No.	State	Capital
1.	Andhrapradesh	Amaravati
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar
3.	Assam	Dispur
4.	Bihar	Patna
5.	Chhattisgarh	Raipur
6.	Goa	Panaji
7.	Gujarat	Gandhinagar
8.	Haryana	Chandigarh

9.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla
10.	Jharkhand	Ranchi
11.	Karnataka	Bengaluru
12.	Kerala	Thiruvananth apuram
13.	Madhy Pradesh	Bhopal
14.	Maharashtra	Mumbai
15.	Manipur	Imphal
16.	Meghalaya	Shillong
17.	Mizoram	Aizawl
18.	Nagaland	Kohima

19.	Odisha	Bhubaneswar
20.	Punjab	Chandigarh
21.	Rajasthan	Jaipur
22.	Sikkim	Gangtok
23.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai
24.	Telengana	Hyderabad
25.	Tripura	Agartala
26.	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow
27.	Uttarakhand	Dehradun
28.	West Bengal	Kolkata

Indian Union Territories and Their Capital

Sl. No.	Union Territories	Capital
1.	Andaman & Nicobar Island	Port Blair
2.	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
3.	Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu	Daman
4.	Delhi	Delhi
5.	Ladakh	NA
6.	Lakshadweep	Kavaratti
7.	Jammu & Kashmir	NA
8.	Puducherry	Pondicherry